free website stats program Engine "squeaking noise" 1999 Night Train / Fat Boy custom | Harley Davidson Forums

Engine "squeaking noise" 1999 Night Train / Fat Boy custom

chuckchaz

I was riding today and about 100 miles into the trip I began to hear a "squeaking " noise coming from the left side of my engine. I have a Sreamin' Eagle engine with about 14k on it... It only makes the noise when you are on the throttle. When it idles it doesn't do it.:bigsmiley32:

I am not a mechanic by any means so I have no idea what this could be. It has never made this noise until today. Any ideas would be appreciated.

-Chuck

Sounds like a head gasket, although it may just be a leaking exhaust gasket.

Yea, i'd check the exhaust gaskets. One that leaks will make a squeak or chirp. Checking that with a spray or anything flammable is a bad idea. (i wouldn't hold a lighter by it to see if it blows it out)

Don't forget exhaust system clamps...and mating pipe surfaces...spray a lttle WD40 or similar to see if squeak disappears. Also had one of my baffles "work" loose, just had to retighten fasteners.

I was riding today and about 100 miles into the trip I began to hear a "squeaking " noise coming from the left side of my engine. I have a Sreamin' Eagle engine with about 14k on it... It only makes the noise when you are on the throttle. When it idles it doesn't do it.:bigsmiley32:

I am not a mechanic by any means so I have no idea what this could be. It has never made this noise until today. Any ideas would be appreciated.

-Chuck

What is done to the engine that makes it a "screamin eagle" engine?

Just curious.

Exhaust leaks can make some strange noises like chirping.

I checked the exhaust...doesn't appear to be loose. Everything is nice and tight.:bigsmiley32:I actually started her up and took her for a short ride this morning and guess what? NO SQUEAK! Now I am really confused:small3d012: