free website stats program engine knock | Harley Davidson Forums

engine knock

chase1

this is my first time and I'm a little nervous, so here goes. My 2000 road king fuel injected, screaming eagle slip ons and K&N air cleaner, has developed a low grade knock or rattle. It is only noticeable at idle, which after warming up is borderline low. The noise comes from the front part of the engine, but I can't seem to pinpoint it. I had the cam chain tensioners replaced 9 months ago and have 28,000 miles on it. Can you offer any help to a first timer?

I'd take it back to who ever did the work on the cam chain tensioners and see if they left something loose or installed something improperly. Is there any vibration in the floor boards or anywhere else assosiated with the noise? If the exhaust pipes or floor boards weren't installed right they could touch something and make a racket. One other thing ya might wanna check is the front motor mount, normally you'd feel that in the handlebars but it's one of those things ta look at when ya get a new rattle or knock. If that all checks out..........find yourself a good Harley Service Department and get them ta tell ya what they think.

I will double check the floor board and the exhausts, my regular mechanic will be back after the holidays and now that you mention it, he did say something about needing a new front motor mount.

But how can you check and see if a motor mount is shot or not?