Votes: 5 38.5%
  • Shop was fair

Votes: 2 15.4%
  • Not sure

Votes: 6 46.2%

• Total voters

oFFCeNTauR

Hello All,

I joined this community to help me figure out if I have been taken for a ride or not (I believe I have).

I ride a 2004 Sportswear 1200 Roadster. I am the 2nd owner. I just brought it to my local shop to have new tires put on and I had them do a 5k mile maintenance on it (though it has 8k miles). I picked up my bike and rode it around 500 miles (mostly commuting to and from work) over the next 4-6 weeks. Then one day I was riding down the highway a my drive belt snapped. The belt not only snapped, but it split in half (perfectly in half, yes the long way). Now the belt showed no signs of ware, glossing, didn't have any damaged teeth. To be honest, it looked like a new belt. I took it back to the shop and asked them to fix it for me and let me know what happened. I had been riding the bike for about 5 years now, it seemed odd for a belt to snap right after I had tires and maintenance done. When I went to pick it up I asked what happened and they told me, "it just snapped. That happens sometimes." I complained that I just had it serviced and no one mentioned that my belt was bad, so either I had paid for a 5k mile maintenance that wasn't properly completed, or someone made a mistake when putting the belt back on. They denied that saying belts snap sometimes. The only belts I have known to snap are really old belts or perfectly good belts that are put on too tight. They took $100 off the service but would not do any more ($500 bill down to $400). I paid and left unsatisfied.

My question to all you fellow bikers is do you think the shop was fair, or was I played?

Help me out here.

It IS a Old bike... Time does wear RUBBER AND THREADS inside the belt.

IF you Felt the belt too tight after tire change???

IF they say what they did and think they are correct, they are correct.