free website stats program Do forward controls = long term back problems?? | Harley Davidson Forums

Do forward controls = long term back problems??

RAWLDYMAN

Just interested to know if members have views on this.
Got chattin to an old acquaintance of mine the other day who happens ot be a physiotherapist and a biker (rides a 78 Honda) and he was admiring my wee sporty. "See ye got mid controls, very wise, he says, those stretched out bikes that you see with forward controls are terrible for causing back problems" He went on to tell me about working on several patients (bikers) who experience long term back issues which he feels are definitely connected with the feet forward arms outstretched stance. "Ergonomically (had to look that one up afterwards!) unsound" he says.
The kinda roads we have round here I don't mind saying the mids are good for me but most Harley riders I see have forwards.
Now I'm only a novice in terms of bikes but many on this forum are riding for decades. What's your experience?

Dont know the long term answer here as I have a bad back to begin with,AllI can tell you is riding is the best Therapy I have found and My Dr agrees with me. I have ridden hard tails, baggers Sporties and am currently riding a streetbob with mid controls. :s

I have a back problem, had it for 20 years. Been riding a 03 FXST with 3" extended forward controls, a sundowner seat for 70,000 miles. Back fills great now and plan on riding it for another 70,000 miles.

Basically if you have long legs (I'm 6'2") and you don't have drag bars with 1" risers, then forwards controls are actually more comfortable. If your legs are too short for them and you don't have handlebars that pull back enough so your are not stretched in a forward C shape then yea it could get to ya after a bit.