free website stats program Distance Runs | Harley Davidson Forums

Distance Runs

BTrain

Being I'm somewhat new in the world HD riding. I have a guess can be called an endurance question.
I own a 08 night train, I ride from homestead and already did a KW trip ( in the rain ) which wasn't fun. Question is, I intend on going to bike week in Daytona and I wanna ride the ride, but is that te type of bike to attempt a 4-5 hour ride or do I trailer it up? I know there are bikes built for distance, but I'm pretty sure this isn't one of them. So if anyone has done such a thing ( which I'm sure there is) drop me a line of advice on run the Train or trailer the train and save the back :):skipping

Ride it, you won't regret it. That's what these things were made for. There will be pleanty others on the road you can hook up with if you don't like traveling alone.

I've rode my '72 Shovelhead, took my time and did the 1000 miles in 2 days. The weather up north here wasn't the greatest, just try to prepare for everything.
Carry a camera, keep it handy and keep a journal, you'll be glad you did.

I agree w/ C-W, just ride it, carry camera and small notepad. Yes you can add mods to your bike for more comfort on long rides ...I have standard forward controls and pegs, and purchased the mid peg brackets to fit Kuryakin mini-wing floorboards. Also, fitted a faceshield to DOT 3 snap helmet (things fall off trucks like rocks and gravel, as well as sand gets kicked up into your face).

Make sure your grips are comfortable with gloves that fit without seams in the palm area (also hook your fingers 'round 'em rather than gripping, common problem with new riders causing poor circulation cold hands and tingling), especially when HD grips are larger in diameter. Good leather jacket w/ventilation and removable liner & chaps are nice.