free website stats program Determining the extent of engine work on a used bike | Harley Davidson Forums

Determining the extent of engine work on a used bike

JFitzDela

Hello, all, and please forgive my ignorance -- I'm new to both Harleys and to anything to do with how a motorcycle works.

I've read through the excellent tip on engine "staging" for HDs, and it's got me wondering about the '04 Softail I bought. I'm fairly certain that the previous owner went at least as far as "Stage 1," but I can't be sure. The dealer said that the intake and the pipes are all they knew of.

I'm wondering how just how much extra torque a Stage 1 upgrade can give. I rode a stock Softail a few days before this bike, and it felt like it had ridiculously less "go."

My question, then, is how can I tell what's been upgraded/changed, bearing in mind that I barely know where the air filter is located.... :) Alternatively, can a new air filter and pipes boost the power as substantially as it seems?

I realize this is a hopelessly huge topic to try and cover, but if I can get some idea, I'll be much better off -- I just want to know how much extra stress my engine is going to be under.

Thanks a million for the help!

- John

Hello, all, and please forgive my ignorance -- I'm new to both Harleys and to anything to do with how a motorcycle works.

I've read through the excellent tip on engine "staging" for HDs, and it's got me wondering about the '04 Softail I bought. I'm fairly certain that the previous owner went at least as far as "Stage 1," but I can't be sure. The dealer said that the intake and the pipes are all they knew of.

I'm wondering how just how much extra torque a Stage 1 upgrade can give. I rode a stock Softail a few days before this bike, and it felt like it had ridiculously less "go."