free website stats program crank shaft run out | Harley Davidson Forums

crank shaft run out

xxspark

I am in the process of doing a 95" big bore build stage 3. On the advice of members of this forum I was changing to a gear cam instead of the chain an tensioners. I found out that my pinion run out was .0025, borderline for gear cams and advised to go with chain and tensioners. Will this wobble in the crank shaft cause me other problems down the road? I'm kind of new to this and was told the loose tolerance is common with Harley. Thank You for any advise.

I am in the process of doing a 95" big bore build stage 3. On the advice of members of this forum I was changing to a gear cam instead of the chain an tensioners. I found out that my pinion run out was .0025, borderline for gear cams and advised to go with chain and tensioners. Will this wobble in the crank shaft cause me other problems down the road? I'm kind of new to this and was told the loose tolerance is common with Harley. Thank You for any advise.

Possibly. Unfortunately, you and I have the older pressed crank. Although the scissoring problem was more prevalent in the larger displacement engines, it can happen in the 88" depending on how the bike is ridden. My guess is that you are NOT adding to the displacement in order to ride it more gently!!

So you might want to consider having the crank trued and the pin welded IF you are set on the gear drive. If you go with the roller chain conversion, it is more tolerant, but if you ride the bike hard after upping to 95", you may still scissor the crank enough to mess up the oil pump.

Sorry.

TQ

YOU MUST NOT have read "MOST" of the members I know say: IF THE HYDRAULIC "KIT" BEEN AVAILABLE BACK IN 2000 OR LATER,,,, THEY WOULD OF USED THE KIT TO UP-GRADE .... not the gear drives (just for the upgraded parts and $$ cost alone)