free website stats program Cop wouldn't wave... | Harley Davidson Forums

Cop wouldn't wave...

Mavagrand

riding along, saw another scoot heading my way and, before I even thought about it out goes my left hand, dangling down in the classic biker wave. As we got close, I glanced over to check out his bike and noticed it was a police officer on a road king..caught him checking out my ride (you know we all do it) so I know he saw my wave...he didn't wave back.. REally annoyed me. I KNOW he saw the wave. I have to wonder if he didn't wave because he was an on duty cop in uniform. Maybe not..maybe he is one of those guys that believe in both hands on the bars...I dunno but it got all over me. Here's the kicker...I am a 17 year veteran of the sheriff's office here. Been a cop most of my adult life. I don't let my job define who I am, although I have to admit in my younger days I did, and I don't judge or pass judgement on those of different professions. anyway, dont know why it irritated me but it did. perhaps he was just preoccupied. anyway, for you biker cops out there..try not to be so cliqueish..that biker you shunned may be the biker down the road that stops to help you. rant over. ride safe.

If I see a cop on a bike I wave every time, just to see if they'll wave back. Around here they usually do. I was very surprised the first time I did it and got the return wave, so now I wave every time.

I have never had a cop not nod or wave to me. I wave or nod to people every day that don't do the same back. Don't worry about it man.

:small3d011:

Last edited by a moderator:
The story around here is that if the cop is riding his bike, he is suppose to have both hands on the handlebars. I don't know if that is true or not, but that's what I've hear.