free website stats program Converting Sport Bike Riders | Harley Davidson Forums

Converting Sport Bike Riders

Nikko684

So I thought about adding this thread, as it would be interesting to see the results. I don't know about you guys, but every sport bike rider I come across, I try to talk them into switching to a Harley. I will literally spend hours talking to them and showing them pictures of the different Harley's. Usually they tend to like the VRSC models, naturally, lol. I have successfully converted 2 in the last week. One bought a 2013 Sportster 48, the other bought a street glide and I have 2 others seriously looking at the Nightrod.:bigsmiley14::D I think we should all post our results after a successful conversion!

LOL, I can't really convert them, as I have no real sport bike experience. :) I think it is a totally different experience...but IMO, ridin' is ridin', I don't care who you are. :)

I'm not sure what your motivation is for wanting to convert someone from a sport bike rider to buying a Harley. I happily answer any questions anyone might ask about my bike or Harley's in general, but I would never try to talk someone off of a bike they're happy with.

Have these sport bike riders expressed an interest in switching to more of a cruising riding style? Are you trying to build up a larger group of friends to ride with and you don't feel comfortable mixing in with sport riders?

Curious minds want to know!

I had a '96 Ninja 250 that I acquired off a young fellow a couple years ago for free that I did some electrical work for and it was alright. Never really like the hunched over effect. Great on gas. I wound up adjusting the valves, dropping in new plugs, brakes, tires, and replaced some of the fairings... practically refurbishing it, and I sold it for a good penny to another young fellow that was learning how to ride.

One thing I liked about it, was the ease of handling. Heck the bike weighed only 2 buck fifty -- if that!