free website stats program confused | Harley Davidson Forums

confused

Beaux

Hey Im new to this site and already have mechanical questions. I let my battery go dead due to cold weather when I was out of town and I got it to crank back up and now the tach doesn't work right and the motor will idle fine but won't rev up and the lights flicker when it idles I'm new to the motorcyle world but trying to learn. I appriciate any ideas or suggestions. A little about my bike its a 1990 Softail Heritage with High Comp pistons a bigger crank, a six speed tranny, and a Hypercharger.

Recharge the battery fully before going any further as opposed to jumping the battery to start it. If that doesn't do it chances are the battery needs replacing, a load test will tell you this that can be done at most auto stores for free. Check for any blown accessory fuses.

You may consider the addition of a battery tender in the future.

A battery tender? I have a little charger that is plugged into the bike kind of like a diesal truck is that that same thing? It was in the saddle bag when I bought it. Like I said I don't know much about bikes but I am mechanical to an extent.

A battery tender? I have a little charger that is plugged into the bike kind of like a diesal truck is that that same thing? It was in the saddle bag when I bought it. Like I said I don't know much about bikes but I am mechanical to an extent.

Beaux,