free website stats program coil problems? | Harley Davidson Forums

coil problems?

brwdarr

I have been chaseing a problem for 2 months now. the motor misfires at idle and low rpm. thought it was fuel related so I clean carb and jets and replace intake gaskets and carb gasket. sometimes it runs o.k. and sometimes it just doesn't seam to have any power. the exhaust has a different sound to it. well anyway, I check compression 150 in each jugs. sparkplugs looks o.k. a grayish color. I thought about the coil being bad, but I have never had a coil go bad, and I have wasted alot of money on coils though the years. the bike is a 1990 fltc with a 80 evo motor. I guess my question is how likely is it to be a bad coil? are hd coils known to go bad. any other suggestion would be appreated.

What about plug wires? Tried a new set of plugs?

Look at the coil for possible carbon tracking (arcing to ground) It looks like a pencil line or crack in the housing which indicates a misfire.

the motor misfires at idle and low rpm. .

If your in 3nd gear cruising at 2,000 RPM and you roll hard into throttle (WOT) will the bike pull clean and smooth to redline without ANY misfire? Will the same happen using 4th gear.

I have change plugs and wires. bike pulls good at {wot}. I had the coil off and didn't see anything wrong with it visibly. no cracks. at 2000 rpm, if you try to ease back on the gas it will skip and stumble a little bit. give it more throttle and it is fine. sounds like a slow jet problem right? I bought a new slow jet #45 and install it. also I adjusted my idle mixing screw out a 1\4 of a turn. help some, but skip is still there. right now it's running pretty good, but in a day or 2, i'll hop on it and it will run like a slug. like the timming is off or a jet is clog or something like that, and i'll tear back into it again. could it be bad gas? I ran through 3 tanks of gas from different station and added some seafoam to each tank.