free website stats program clunk or clink on upshift | Harley Davidson Forums

clunk or clink on upshift

Colt.45

Hey all
I have a transmission question. I am new to H.D. and always had metrics so please bear with me. I ride an "08" Rockerand am wondering if the sound mine makes when upshifting is normal? When upshifting to 2nd,3rd,4th etc. I can feel and hear it clunk into gear....no grind,squeal or anything like that just a solid clink/clunk sound. It actually seems louder upshifting than down shifting. Bike does not creep in gear with clutch in, does not lurch forward when shifting into 1st. from neutral.I adjusted the clutch per the Bubbie method and it feels great. Just curious........is this normal?
As usual...Thank you............Colt.45

This is one time the saying they all do that is fairly accurate

Brian

I just recently came from a Honda, and this is my first Harley too. I can tell you both the shifting and the valves especially are much louder. The valve thing scared me at first until I did a google-search. Found out quick enough it is par for the course on a Harley.

Hey all
I have a transmission question. I am new to H.D. and always had metrics so please bear with me. I ride an "08" Rockerand am wondering if the sound mine makes when upshifting is normal? When upshifting to 2nd,3rd,4th etc. I can feel and hear it clunk into gear....no grind,squeal or anything like that just a solid clink/clunk sound. It actually seems louder upshifting than down shifting. Bike does not creep in gear with clutch in, does not lurch forward when shifting into 1st. from neutral.I adjusted the clutch per the Bubbie method and it feels great. Just curious........is this normal?
As usual...Thank you............Colt.45