free website stats program Choosing a new seat | Harley Davidson Forums

Choosing a new seat

ChiroRick

There are alot of variables that come into play when it comes to seat selection. Riding style (joy riding, day trips, road trips) rider height/weight, etc. Since I am new to HD's, I've been giving my stock seat on my 08 FXDC a chance to prove itself. 219 miles yesterday, and it proved less than worthy. I do mostly cruising around town when I ride, and day trips on the weekends, but I really live for those few weekend trips and a week or two road trip each year, which is usually what I gear my bikes towards.

That being said, I've been told that the Sundowner seat is an excellent selection for long rides. The stock seat wasn't excruciating, but I definetly felt it in my lower back, as well as my tailbone, whereas I've never had any low back soreness on other bikes I've owned. I'm looking at a seat for 300-500 mile days. Suggestions?

I have the stock seat on my scoot but I put the back rest on and it made a world of difference. On my rice burner I put on a Mustang seat with back rest and really liked it over stock. I could put alot more miles behind me with comfort.:D

maybe a change of derriere would help-sorry-couldn't resist that one.
I have found over the years that sometimes if you perservere with the stock set up your muscles and body adapt.
I have had some success with gel pads and also sheepskin covers in hot conditions.
From your post, it might be the riding position not the seat.
I tend to ride in roughly 180 mile sessions, then take a break to refuel have a coffee or take on water.
I also believe in doing mild workouts to tone muscles for riding-it seems to work for me.
Hope that helps.

Last edited by a moderator:
maybe a change of derriere would help-sorry-couldn't resist that one.
I have found over the years that sometimes if you perservere with the stock set up your muscles and body adapt.