free website stats program Carbon Fiber Helmets | Harley Davidson Forums

Carbon Fiber Helmets

i tried one on at hd shop, it was super light, and the sells man said, it was 3x stronger than the current models. i liked them but the one i tried on was $585.00

I'm probably the last person that should be posting on helmets, but having said that. Carbon Fiber helmets are top of the line. They are lighter, means less stress on your neck and more comfort on long hauls, they are stronger, that means more protection, that's what you buy a helmet for, also they are thinner so you don't look like a bubble head while you're riding. Fit is very important, go some where they have a good sales person that can make sure the fit is right, not a sales person trying to get rid of old inventory. If comfort, safty and style means anything to you, go for it, why wear anything less? Now get input from forum members that own them and wear them, I'm no expert because I don't wear helmets.

I flipping hate helmets but living in Canada can't get away from them. Found a $160.00 Carbon Fiber Helmet @ Conti's Biker Wear in Calgary and it's so light I some times forget I have it on. It comes off as soon as I go south of the 49th parrallel. I Ride Mine North of the Forty Nine.

Carbon Fiber Helmets are great. Just got the HD one made by HJC and it fits my 7 1/4" head (my gal says I have a big head...probably right)...and is very light. DOT approved, try to find a good deal, because the price of admission is a bit high if looking at MSRP.

HDCarbonFiberHelmet.jpg

Last edited:
This shows how subjective helmets are.

I ordered a Headtrip helmet from Advanced Carbon Composites last year. While its certainly lightweight it fits horribly. But that could be my head. ;-)

I would love a good carbon fiber helmet, but I won't buy another one from this company.

Skratch,