free website stats program car oil vs bike oil | Harley Davidson Forums

car oil vs bike oil

09 deluxe

I was reading one guys idea on changing oil for his harley softail and he mentioned that mobil 1 car oil is cheaper than mobil 1 V twin and the only difference between the two is that the car oil has a higher MOLYBDENUM
content.

He doesn't mention any grade so I am assuming 20w50. He goes on to state that since harley engines don't have a wet clutch in the engine the higher MOLYBDENUM content is better anyway. Is this right?

any thoughts on this
thanks

Although im not an expert on oil car oil will assume that operating temperature is strictly controlled by the cooling system via liquid and fan with thermostatic control
air cooled motorcycle gets as hot as it gets the only thing to control the temperature is the air flowing over the engine
id want an oil designed for the correct environment

Brian

Don't do it till you get a lot more research done. I think Brian is right there. Air cooled motors and water cooled motors run at different temperatures. Air cooled running through a lot more heat ranges.I used to run "Aero Shell" in my shoveleads and panhead, and it worked great! It was meant for air cooled airplane engines. (Also readily available at little airports across the country!!!) That was in the 80's. Now days, there is so much great oil on the market. I wouldn't mess with trying to save a few bucks.

Use an oil that is made for a V Twin air cooled engine. I want the very best in protection for the engine and not something that is "good enough'' Why not use the $1.50 a quart oil and save more?:s

OILS designated for autos are not usually 20/50 wt. oils and NOT designated to be used in a V-twin, AIR COOLED engine.... The EPA really has cut down on ADDITIVES that can be added in oils of today...

The 20/50 is one of the LAST FEW weights of oil, allowed with the additives WE need to keep our bikes working and running good.