free website stats program cam chain | Harley Davidson Forums

cam chain

dynaboy

I am a 66year old first time harley rider, it is a 2001 fxd with a stage one. I have been riding for 48 years and now i know what it is all about. The fxd i have was my daughters bike and she passed away last year. We always argued what was the best bike and she was smarter than i was, she is riding the harley in heaven now. The bike has 15000 miles and should i be worried about the cam chain tensioners. I put 9000 miles on it this year and that included a 3000 mile round trip to az. I am from wenatchee wa.thanks for any info.

i was at local harley shop and a 2001 heritage had 45,000 miles on it and they just replaced them, they had about 10% life left is what the dealer told me.

Welcome to the Forum. Glad to have you here.

You will find lots of great info in the Self-help pages and in the heads of your fellow members.

Unfortunately, the time between failure for the tensioner shoes is unpredictable. Rather than worry about the cam chain tensioners, why don't you just pop the cam cover off and check them. I replace the outside one when it nuked on my bike, but then finally did the roller chain conversion for peace of mind. See here:

TQ's Engine Build - Harley Davidson Community

TQ

I also have to remind everyone about the outter cam bearings. My nephew was out riding a couple of weeks ago, on a bike he bought last year, a 99 road king with 13000 miles. Starting making noises so I drove the 120 miles to go pick him and bike up. Turns out the bearings had never been done under the recall, sounds like it is going to cost him a couple of grand for cams and gear drive and bearing etc.
kemo