free website stats program burned out clutch on a new 2012 Road King at 1700 miles | Harley Davidson Forums

burned out clutch on a new 2012 Road King at 1700 miles

dmdpeterdmd

I bought a new 2012 Road King classic, and then took it in for its first recommended service to the dealer. After picking up the bike from the service, I noticed that the clutch lever was quite firm. Looked at the clutch cable adjustment, and it was 1/8 of an inch clearance. Rode the bike for about 2-300 miles more, and it started slipping. Now, I have been riding Harleys for over 30 years, and never had a burned out clutch in my life. So, I take the bike back to the dealer, who proceeds to tell me that the clutch plates are burned out, and that I need a new set of plates - and of course (the bike is still under warranty) the warranty does not cover it, and I would have to pay for it. I got slightly(EDIT) , and told him that if his tech knew what the (EDIT) he was doing, the clutch should have been adjusted properly in the first place, during the initial service, and then this would not have happened. It took a while to call HD - explaining to them what happened - and they finally agreed to do it under warranty - what a hassle. I do not think some of these techs know what they are doing - or their mind is on something else. Anyway - any of you out there have any thoughts on when should such a clutch be adjusted periodically, under normal riding conditions (no heavy traffic)? What actually happened, is that the clutch had absolutely no play in it, and apparently was always riding on the plates, burning it out. Thanks

Please read this...

HDTimeline Language Policy - Harley Davidson Community

Last edited by a moderator: