free website stats program Bike won't idle when it warms up | Harley Davidson Forums

Bike won't idle when it warms up

OK as you can see I am new here but I have a problem that I haven't been able to figure out.

I have over 50,000 miles on my 2004 FXDI Super Glide. I have a problem when it warms up it doesn't want to idle. It also pops and backfires when I let off on the gas. It only does this when it warms up. So any ideas?

Thanks in advance

Cowboy

I am no Harley mechanic,but I do know that when the people that can help you come back on they will want a bit more information.Is it stock? If not what upgrades? and what tuner if any

Good looking out Steve.

has Screaming Eagle slip ons and K&N filter. Just installed a Harley Oil Cooler.

udder than that yup she's stock.:s

Sounds to me like she may be running lean...possibly obstruction in fuel tank inlet filter, possibly picked up some bad gas. What were the circumstances leading up to this problem. May also want to check condition of plugs and look back in your maintenance history for background.

Sounds to me like she may be running lean...possibly obstruction in fuel tank inlet filter, possibly picked up some bad gas. What were the circumstances leading up to this problem. May also want to check condition of plugs and look back in your maintenance history for background.

Would that cause it to stop idling when it warms up? I will pull the plugs tomorrow morning.

Last edited:
If this is something that developed without any changes to the bike, you might want to check for a vacuum leak at the intake area. That would explain the symptoms. Good luck!