free website stats program Bike lifts | Harley Davidson Forums

Bike lifts

kemo

R.I.P
I want to buy a new bike lift but I don't want a cheapie, I already have one. I am kicking around a Pitbull or a J&S but I am undecided. Anyone have either or can suggest another brand and offer their ideas why I should buy that lift.
Ken

I have no experience with the Pitbull,but I do have a J&S and it is one sturdy jack. Have had my bikes up on cheaper jacks and they seem a bit scary to me. You can tell the difference. Heard good things about Sears but have never tried one. Just can't see trying to balance twenty grand on a fifty dollar lift. One oops and your savings plus is gone.

Pitbull Motorcycle Lifts, Built by bikers for bikers with you and your bike's safety in mind.

kemo:

I have a pitbull jack and it is amazing, the link above shows a guy sitting on the bike while it's up on the jck, not tied down, and he is going through all the gears, while another guy climbs on the floorboards and jumps around.

I saw them do the same demo at the Lone Star Rally last year, and got a great discount the last day as they were packing up.

I use mine everyday to turn my bike around and just couldn't see not owning one. You do have to have the room to store it because it is not compact, I just slide mine under the work bench. This is one sturdy, well built jack, I've heard the Pitbull and the J&S are almost identical.

It took me several tries to position it under the bike just right so I could drain the crankcase and transmission without repositioning the jack. I asked the pitbull guys this year at the rally where is the best place to do so, and if there were any positions that would cause a problem. He said as long as the jack was under the frame I could jack up the bike (i.e. forward or backward of the centerline of the frame), he was right.