free website stats program BETTER FUEL MPGs | Harley Davidson Forums

BETTER FUEL MPGs

porkchop

This may sound crazy but here we go.

I have allways used super unleaded 93 octain fuel since my bike was new and was averaging 43 44 MPG then i added a V&H fuelpak and as expected the MPG went down to 38/39, I now there is a trade off wen you add more fuel, but get this, I fueled up with reg unleaded 87 octain on advice from a buddy and my MPG went back up to 42 MPG!!! Whats going on here????:wall

You quit twisting your right hand so far back:D
Well this was a problem at first but I started riding in my normal mode when i began checking MPGs. I have run several tanks of super with the fuelpak and the MPG stayed consistant the ran three tanks of reg it to was consistantly higher and the bike even runs better on it, It just doesnt make sense to me.

The key is that if you use lower octane gas AND take it easy, the EFI will compensate by retarding the timing closer to TDC and guess what, volumetric efficiency improves and emissions go down...EPA proved it in the 70's...but the performance also goes down because you are gearing up quicker and running in the fuel mileage sweetspot of 40 mph...kinda boring huh...!

Volumetric efficiency is a ratio of the volume of fuel and air that enters the cylinder during induction to the actual capacity of the cylinder under static conditions. Retarding the timing using lower octane fuel will not only diminish power but also MPG too.
Likewise a cooler intake air charge will increase cylinder fill and give better volumetric efficiency in this way.

There's little to be gained IMO doing this to any internal combustion engine. The ill effects would outweigh the benefits in my book.