free website stats program BDL question | Harley Davidson Forums

BDL question

Newbie here. Just wondering if anyone has any experience with BDL enclosed primary belt drives? I'll be installing one soon on my 93 Softail and if anybody has any info it would be appreciated. Thanks cscooter93

I've been left along side the road twice with a broken belt and it will never happen again. Harley tried primary belt drive in the 80's and could not make it work, I should have learnned from the source, if you inclose them you have a heat problem, if you run them open you have stuff getting between the belt & pully, then theres alignment issues and the clutch rattles because it's dry, but a 3'' open belt drive does looks really cool parked in my living room. I have friends that run them open in Alaska to this day, but I have a saying, first time your fault, secound time our fault, third time my fault and a well lube chain has always got me home. Rear belts are great but primary belts just aren't for me, just my two cents on primary belt drives, maybe you'll have better luck.

I have an open belt primary (narrow) on my shovelhead. I can't stop it from squeeking at idle, the clutch plates chatter, and start offs are abrupt because there's no compensator. I ONLY keep it because it came on it, and I don't ride it much.
But the 3" do look great.

First off check for proper alignment and pulley wear, The rattle in the clutch is pretty normal if it is stock, with a primary cover on it would mask most of the noise altho as Chopper says it creates alot of heat. H D couldnt even get it quite right on the original belt drive set up on the Sturgis models also Shovel heads, We could never get them to last mostly from Heat problems, Jack