free website stats program Anyone ever had to lay their bike down? | Harley Davidson Forums

Anyone ever had to lay their bike down?

trvlr

I've been riding since 1977. Learned on a Suzuki 380 - moved up to a Kawa KZ-1000 - a 1500 Goldwing and now an 08 Ultra.

I always liked hitting the twisties but would probably call myself "cautiously" aggressive. Only (knock on wood) been down once and that was many many years ago when I got too aggressive in a curve that was layered with sand, stood her up and was heading right for some oncoming traffic. Decided to take the ditch instead. Not hurt too bad, that I recall. Still here anyways...

I have never had to lay a bike down, and to be honest, not sure if I'd know how to do it in an oh-(EDITED) moment..never having had any practice. That's almost embarrassing to say after riding for all these years.I would think I would/should know how.

Any of you fellow riders ever had to intentionally lay a bike down? Was it gut instinct that took over and got you through it? Was it something you studied and were ready for, or is it something you learned in a safety riding course.

And just how easily does one of these baggers lend itself to avoidance maneuvering? Interested in other folks experiences.... TIA -

Language is not permitted on this forum.

Please read and understand the info in this link...

A Friendly Reminder - Harley Davidson Community

Last edited by a moderator:
Although in the past i have ended up on the tarmac a few time Ive never done it deliberately Ive always been assisted by snow/ice/diesel/blown tyre to name a few incidents
I don't think id bounce the same as i did when younger so i hope it does not happen again

Brian