free website stats program adjustment for passenger to ride with me. a question somebody i hope could answer. | Harley Davidson Forums

adjustment for passenger to ride with me. a question somebody i hope could answer.

i have recently gotten a 2002 hd sportster 1200 custom, and i took my girl on a ride the other day and something felt wrong as we started picking up speed. im new to biking and i dont know much. can anybody help me out on what i need to do adjust or install for a passenger to ride???

Have air pressure checked and adjusted for passenger. If shocks are adjustable has that been done for adding passenger.
A little more info as to what was happening and how you compensated for it would help in getting a better answer...

well it just felt like the rear of the bike was dragging a bit to much. like i was afraid that the tail fender was about to hit the tire and i just had a hard time turning.

and i didnt compensate for it at all. i just got a low profiler seat and put it on. thats it.

Last edited by a moderator:
and i didnt compensate for it at all. i just got a low profiler seat and put it on. thats it.

Adjustable shocks on your bike Take a Special Tool that HD SELLS seperate of the bikes.. a simple Single Spanner Wrench is needed to place the rear shocks UP to their fullest position when riding double.... I leave mine there all the time...

The air pressure should be at 40 psi and BOTH Shock setting and air pressure would make a world of difference..

You never mentioned WEIGHT of both you and the passenger??????

This also makes a HUGE difference here.. :D

signed....BUBBIE

Bubbie is correct total weight is something you need to know. You also need to know what your bike is capable of handling. You did not mention if the bike has lowered shocks, or if the shocks are stock height and if they are the original shocks that came on the bike. Shocks do wear out and the aftermarket has all types of replacements for you bike.