free website stats program A confusing fuel problem | Harley Davidson Forums

A confusing fuel problem

murf

I recently started a thread " baffled about baffles " in this column. Now that I'm pretty sure that fuel contamination is not the problem, I have a question. The bike will run well after cold/warm start until I ride 3-5 miles at hwy speeds. better than 50% of the time if I fill with fuel the problem will go away for a short or not so short time. What could filling the tank do. I would have bet that trash in fuel was the issue, but it isn't. Fuel is clean from tank to float bowl. ?

I am by no means an expert but I did have a similar sounding problem with my lawn tractor, just not at highway speeds :D. Turned out that the gas cap was not allowing air into the tank as gas was being used and it created a vacuum. Not sure how the bike tank is vented but if no air is getting in to displace the gas going out I would imagine similar symptoms.

Apologize if completely off the mark but will throw it out there anyway...

I am by no means an expert but I did have a similar sounding problem with my lawn tractor, just not at highway speeds :D. Turned out that the gas cap was not allowing air into the tank as gas was being used and it created a vacuum. Not sure how the bike tank is vented but if no air is getting in to displace the gas going out I would imagine similar symptoms.

Apologize if completely off the mark but will throw it out there anyway...
bseal182

You are probably "right on" with this thinking... Good Call ..

The simple way murf Just Re-Stated the problem, this is PROBABLY the answer... I think it has been suggested before in the other thread IF NOT murf,,, ?Have you tried to leave the gas cover Loose enough to get air around the cap.??? IF you Have tried this it May be the vacuum line loosing vacuum and shutting off the fuel...or as suggested before ALSO the valve on the tank IF it is Vacuum controlled, might be bad...

signed....BUBBIE