free website stats program 99 Fatboy solid wheels on 99 softail | Harley Davidson Forums

99 Fatboy solid wheels on 99 softail

My 99 softail originally had spoke wheels. I am switching to solid fatboy wheels. I installed the rear wheel and discovered that it is too far to the left. Can the same spacers from spoke wheels be used on the solid wheels? I'm wrenching myself, and I'm a machinist and can make new spacers if I have to, but I'm not sure if I just used the spacers on the wrong sides.

In looking at a parts diag. there should be 3 spacers on the rear wheel. All the same for spoke or mag..
1@ 1.225", goes on left side, and 2 @ .7500" long that go inside the seals on each side. Those are for a Fat Boy. It appears as though all Softail models have the same spacers. What front end do you have, did it mount up right? What model Softail do you have?
tourbox

It's a custom build. The original owner pulled the front end from a Fatboy that was hit in the left side swing arm. The frame came from the Harley re-furbishing plant i. West Virginia. As well as the motor and tranny. The primary came from a dealership in Arizona. The swing arm assembly was taken from a Fatboy that was stolen and stripped. He bought it from an insurance auction. It's a mongrel class, but she's my first Harley. The owner I bought it from thought he was an electrician and installed some custom tail lites and head lites. He did a major hack job with the dash. I didn't catch it when I bought it, and I'll be rewiring the dash with all kit. Originally I had her down to replace the stator. That was a mistake cause I started looking at itand thinking " if I do this it'll look awesome......the tins are repainted. A new cam. Painted engine parts.....Basically it'll be a partial restore when I'm done. She'll run without issues and be beautiful. Thanks for the info.