free website stats program 30 minutes...$35. | Harley Davidson Forums

30 minutes...$35.

JKT1969

Was what I was quoted by the HD shop to install the MO's. That's not bad. Personally, I would really like to do this work myself, but I would really like to do it with someone who knows what they are doing supervising me. I would love to have someone walk me through what to do...

Sorry. I do live close enough to come over and give you a hand but I have ZERO experience with exhaust and/or slip ons.

JKT; It's really a case of "righty tighty, lefty loosey". You will need 7/16" and a 9/16" wrenches or sockets. A small crescent will work. Also some WD40 or PB blaster. Remove your saddlebags, and spray the studs & nuts clamp at the front of the mufflers, also all around the clamp. Do both sides. Then remove the 2 small bolts holding the mufflers to the bag brace. Now loosen the muffler clamp, and try to twist the muffler. Spray more if requred. Keep twisting until it goes about 1/2 total, then start pulling it off as you twist.
Installing the new MO's is reverse of above. If they have logo's on them, make sure you have left & right correct. Tip: carefully wrap your old mufflers and put in a safe place, for future epa requirements or to sell. If you don't wrap them good, they will get badly scratched over time, I promise!!
Lastly, buy a case of beer for yourself, and a bouquet of supermarket flowers for your wife with the $35 you saved.
Double Lastly, stand back and admire your new mufflers and notice that warm feeling inside from the free beer and doing it yourself. :newsmile016:

Do it yourself this one is as simple as stated above...also get the shop manual and with a few posted questions you will be saving money on the easy stuff and soon you will feel comfortable taking on the more challenging tasks:s

My 2 cents:
PB blaster works better than WD-40.