free website stats program 2009 Heritage Console Removal | Harley Davidson Forums

2009 Heritage Console Removal

AZRICH

Hi. I'm new to my Harley and new to the forum. Was hoping I could get a little help here. I have a 2009 Heritage Softail Classic and I was wanting to remove and replace the tank bib that fits under the console and under the seat. I've unscrewed the nut on top of the console, but it won't budge. I didn't want to damage anything, so I left it alone and thought I would ask here. I think the 2009 is different than previous years. Your help would be appreciated. And I hope I posted to the right forum.

I think the only softail that has changed is the FXCW/C, all others only have the nut amd washer on top of console, I think? I've had them want to stick but a slight tap with my palm would usually jar them loose.

Well, I have tried tapping it many times, but it won't budge. I'm afraid to hit it too hard. That is why I think there may be some new trick to taking them off. I know Harley changed the frame in 2009, and the console is now what they call a "cat's eye" console. So maybe there is some way it is held that I am not aware of.

I just took the top nut off on my 08 Heritage. The first time I took the nut off I thought there had to be something else that had to be loosened. But for the 08, the first time it came off it stuck a little. After that it was gravy. And I didn't tap it...I put my hands on it and gently wiggled it off.

I can't think there would be that much difference in the Cat Eye console than the 08 console other than design.

Hi AZrich I have a 09 Heritage and I had to pull the tank. After removing the nut and washer it came right off. The bolt had a flat head that fit in a grove on the tank.