free website stats program 1985 Softails "RED HEADED STEP CHILD"? | Harley Davidson Forums

1985 Softails "RED HEADED STEP CHILD"?

bender1

Howdy ya'll. New to this forum and just bought my Harley last year so yes, I'm a NEWBIE NEWBIE NEWBIE just to get that out of the way. Anyway, I found it in a barn and had been sitting for 12 years. $800.00 later and it was in the back of my truck and on the way to my shop. Now, I've been riding for about ten years now but as I say, this is my first Harley so bare with me. Since I have started modifying and upgrading my 85, I have noticed that the aftermarket world is somewhat limited when it comes to this year Softail. Kinda like it's been left behind or forgotten about (hence the title "red headed step child"). Seems like all the catalouges and websites go from 77-84 to 86-99. What gives? I'm sure that to some of you this is probably common knowledge. Anybody care to enlighten me? Thanks.

There's certain years/models like some of the earlier dynas and FXR's that there just isn't many aftermarket parts for. Could never figure this out myself and I had an early dyna and also an FXR and couldn't find many choices for parts so I know what you are going through.

Good luck in your hunt for parts. :D

Last edited:
Hmmmm, well I appreciate that glider. I've waited a few days thinking that I would get a few more replies about this but apparently that's not the case. My little post there has been read 145 times and nobody has anything to say about it?, I figured that what I was asking was no big deal and getting involved in a forum like this would help me get this figured out. SOMEBODY PLEASE TELL ME WHY MY 1985 SOFTIE IS SOOOOO MUCH DIFFERENT THAN A 1984 OR 1986!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last edited by a moderator: