free website stats program 1000 Mile Service | Harley Davidson Forums

1000 Mile Service

BuffaloBill

Hello Gang

May be a silly question my regarding the 1000 mile intial servce I have been doing my own for my bikes since 2007 However just for CuriosityI asked the Service Dept Manager what exacltly they do for the $450.00 :newsmile093:charge. He explained that the mechanic makes sure thet all fastners are torqued properly, Neck bearings are inspected and torqued should they need to be all spokes are checked and all holes are drained and filled with new oil, lube clutch cable and adjust clutch

I have a New RKC , Now my question is how many of you owners out there are confident that the dealer is actually performing all the check points for the 1000 mile service.

BuffaloBILL

Wow, $450.00, where do you live? here in Idaho with all syn fluid I only charged $300.00 at the dealership.
Most dealers are on flat rate these days temping techs to be too fast and MMI is pumping out techs like puppys at a puppy factoy, if you have a manual and a torque wrench you can do it yourself and know that everything was done, here is what harley recommends for services. 08 & 09 are the same.

View attachment 2008 Service Intervals.pdf

Picked up my sportster after 1000, short exactly 1qt of oil when I cheked it at home 5 minutes later. Got a smiling apology. Take care of most everything myself now.

I cannot speak for all dealers but from experience in the automotive side of the business I'll say.
If the tech can cut a corner and get away with it they usually will.

We employed a guy who road tested every car that came through the shop. He had a check list of items that were supposed to be checked,lubed,adjusted,topped off ,and looked at.