free website stats program 09 ultra classic engine cuts off while driving for app. 5 sec.then restarts. no codes | Harley Davidson Forums

09 ultra classic engine cuts off while driving for app. 5 sec.then restarts. no codes

rben210

I am new to this form and have searched it for post related to my problem but have not found any. I would welcome any help.

The engine will cut off while ridding just like someone used the stop switch. it has always restarted, sometimes before I can pull to the side of the road. All the lights and gauges are normal.
It does it with a full tank of gas also. There are no codes. I have performed a wiggle test on the harness and cannot duplicate the problem at idle.
Thanks, rben210

Have you done any mods to the bike lately? You may want to open up the start/stop switch and check for corrosion on the connections.

No mods and that is a good place to start. Where can I find a wiring diagram on the start/stop switch? Could it also be a short in that harness?
Thanks for the reply.

The circut breaker getting warm and then cooling off has been a problem in the past.
I bought an extra ($6) to carry in case I or a fellow rider has the same problem.

No mods and that is a good place to start. Where can I find a wiring diagram on the start/stop switch? Could it also be a short in that harness?
Thanks for the reply.
You can find all you need in the self help section. Yes anything is possible as far as having a short. It seems to me I read a thread recently about someone having the same issue as you and it turned out to be corrosion build up on the contacts with the start/stop switch.

The circut breaker getting warm and then cooling off has been a problem in the past.
I bought an extra ($6) to carry in case I or a fellow rider has the same problem.

I thought circuit breaker too but he said that he never loses lights or gauges. If the circuit breaker opens, you lose it all. Albeit for maybe a very short time period.