free website stats program 08 Fat Bob - Good beginner's bike? | Harley Davidson Forums

08 Fat Bob - Good beginner's bike?

DaveInPA

Frozen Account
Hey everyone,

A couple of months ago I bought a Sportster XL883. I've been riding it and loving it. However, my better half has also been riding it, and well, she wants one. So, I'm thinking maybe I'll give her the Sporty when I propose to her in a month or so, and go get myself a Fat Bob. I love the look of them, but I haven't ridden one yet.

What do you guys think? Good choice? I rode dirtbikes a ton as a kid, I've been riding my Sportster almost every day for the last 2 months, and I just finished my MSF course. What are the main differences I would feel between my current bike and the Fat Bob?

Thanks
Dave

Fat bob should be a little bigger and heavier .. maybe not as tall i dont remember ..

Careful Dave - sounds like you're dangerously close to the disease where you buy a new Harley every year, searching for the perfect bike! Do some research, demo a lot of bikes, rent for the day. Make this next purchase your last for awhile or you'll be broke quickly! I'd hate to see you run out and get the Fat Bob and then 6 months later see you post - "What's a Good Touring Model for a New Rider?"

I jumped off my Sporty after 11 months but I spent the last three months researching what my next Harley was going to be. Street Glide was the best of all worlds for me. I'm sure you'd love the Fat Bob, I'm just saying..........

Oh almost forgot, you should feel very fortunate your better half wants to share your love of riding with you. I'm a lonely "batchelor" most of the time I'm riding!

I doubt if you can go wrong there at all....LOL. I got an engagement bike too, & I love it. :D:bigsmiley16: I could have got a ring, but when he said you can have piston rings or a diamond ring, I did not hesitate with my choice. :s