free website stats program 02 fatboy ig swtch meltdown????? | Harley Davidson Forums

02 fatboy ig swtch meltdown?????

paulriley

ok here we go, go an 02 fatboy, 6k, with no add-ons cept harley installed tach/speedo.
bike was running on warm up and just stopped.
no power anywhere cept to odometer.
called harley and a few shops, NADA
i am a TECH, so i did my own search..... i found the prob, but still have an issue!
3 wires on ig switch,red w/blk strip on end is melted..
no more ig switch.
ok so i use jumper from red center and on UNPLUGGGED melted red/blk and start bike, ok cool, put reader on, and before ing scan is done the red/blk wire startes to cook some more....
w/out reader on (too $$$$ to lose) i do the same process and still starts to melt...
DONT KNOW WHERE TO GO NOW.
never been down, all stock except as stated at top....
anyone have a clue as to whats up?
pj:34:

REALLY HOPING SOMEONE CAN ANSWER THIS, as its gonna be a nice day here in socal on sat n sunday, would like to ride...

Last edited by a moderator:
Injected or carb?

Do you have the HD Factory Service Manual covering your '02 Fatboy? Need to look at the electrical system schematic. Suspect a dead short somewhere in the circuit that in the circuit which includes the ignition switch.

Do you have or can you get a DVOM? Inexpensive at Harbor Freight or Northern Tools. With all wires to switch disconnected, check continuity from other two wires and frame ground (not the hot lead). Trace to spot the short.

I know you said no mods, but have you had anything disassembled and reassembled for cleaning or something like that. Good starting point to look for pinched wire. And don't ASSUME about the install by HD. Check out what they did and make sure no possible short there.

Someone with an '02 Fatboy schematic please post it here.

Last edited:
lol, Yes i have the tools, i have more than god, 29 yrs in the biz.....